The Nigeria Spelling Bee was at the “Centre of Excellence” for the Lagos State qualifier of the competition which spanned two days for Junior and Senior spellers from across the State as the search for the best spellers in Nigeria continues.

The Junior competition was conducted on Friday the 22nd of March while the Senior contest was on the 23rd of March. Both competitions featured hundreds of spellers all vying for a chance to showcase their spelling prowess and represent the State at subsequent levels of the contest.

After some exciting rounds of showing their spelling prowess, these spellers made it as the top spellers in Lagos State:


  • Abara of Doraphil Divine School
  • Abdullahi Jimbo of Tollywood College
  • Adebisi Sherifdeen of Adam Yakub Memorial High School
  • Adeleye Temilade of Good Shepherd Schools
  • Agbo Promise C of Executive Safe Home School
  • Ahmed Zainab of Good Shepherd Schools
  • Ajuwon Janet of Good Shepherd Schools
  • Akinsola Abdullai Omotolani of Aaresther Divine Secondary School,
  • Chukwunenye Pamela Ebubechukwu of Copeland College
  • David Chukwuka Okafor of Chosen International Secondary School
  • Dominic Emuekhare of Lighthouse International Schools Ikorodu Lagos
  • Fakunmoju Ayomiposi Zainab of Tollywood College
  • Faye-Harry Tanunoemi Lois of Deeper Life High School
  • Gbadamasi Tinuola Ganuyat of Eva Adelaja Junior Girls Secondary SCHOOL Barka
  • George Anita of Good Shepherd Schools
  • Hamza -Oyinwonuola of Yeshua Highschool
  • Hannah Shodamola of Tollywood College
  • Hundeyin Sewanu Romiad of Ugolin Kins School
  • Igwe Emmanuella of Durable Comprehensive High School
  • Iloegbunam Alexander Chukwuebuka of Rolex Comprehensive College
  • Ivie Ekhaguere of Rosemore House International School
  • James Felix Anchor of Doraphil Divine School
  • Jonah Elisha Goodness of Jomab Premium College
  • Lasisi Aliyah Oluwatunmise of Oreyo Junior Grammar School, Igbogbo
  • Mosaku Micheal Ifeoluwa of Advanced Breed Comprehensive College
  • Naomi Ugbechie of Binta International School
  • Nathan Olu-Adegoke of Rosemore House International School
  • Ndika Adaobi Deborah of Ugolin-Kins School
  • Nwosu Kelechi Micheal of Ugolin Kins School
  • Obasi Somkelechi Romemary Elias International Secondary School
  • Odukoya Temitope Laura of Silverdale High School
  • Olabiyi Faith of Good Shepherd Schools
  • Oluwaferanmi Yinka-Adetayo of Yemco Schools
  • Owokoniran Abisola of Durable Comprehensive High School
  • Oyebanji Temiloluwa Mercy of Wisdom -Gate International School
  • Raymond Udenyi of Frontline Group of School
  • Sagua Oghenetega Immanuel of Yeshua High School
  • Sheriff Abdraheem O. of Kings College, Lagos
  • Tunde Adebesin Jesuloluwa of Good Shepherd Schools


  • Abuka Victor O. C. of Kings College Lagos
  • Adegbite Roqeebah of Blazers Schools, Egbeda, Lagos
  • Ademosu Timilehin Michael of Kings College Lagos
  • Ajala Jesutofarati Moyosoreoluwa of Deeper Life High School Lagos Campus
  • Akintunde Victoria Morenikeji of Community Senior Secondary School, Ojo, Lagos
  • Alade Precious Abisola of Durable Comprehensive High School, Ikotun, Lagos
  • Chibuife Chidinma of Aaresther Divine Secondary School Ajao Estate
  • Chukwubuikem Ezewulu of Ikeja Senior High School, Lagos
  • Dosunmu Stephannie Adeola of Durable Comprehensive High School Ikotun
  • Egbetayo Akorede Daniel of Wisdom Gate International School, Arogun, Ogun State
  • Favour Victor Sam of Deeper Life High School Lagos Campus
  • Ikem Distinguish Uzomechine of Deeper Life High School, Lagos State
  • Isawade Barnabas of Good Shepherd School, Meiran Lagos
  • Izima Ugochinyere Lilian of Good Shepherd School, Meiran Lagos
  • Johnson Esther of Ordinance College Lagos
  • Lawson Aduragbemi Michael of Advanced Breed Comprehensive College
  • Nlemorisa Divine Chioma of Zion Bells School
  • Nwankwo Divinegift Chioma of Asoland College, Moshalashi, Alumosho L.G.A
  • Okonkwo Chibuikem Mitchel of Kembos College Isolo Lagos
  • Olaonipekun-Oluwatofunmi Precious of Ajayi Dahansi Memorial Baptist School
  • Oluwafisayomi Adenike Adeyemo of Lighthouse International Schools, Ikorodu
  • Oluwagunna Temilola Shammah of Elias International School, Abule Egba
  • Onah Blessing of Deeper Life High School Lagos Campus
  • Owoyemi Ajibola Oladele of Yeshua High School, Lagos
  • Owulu Uzoamaka Maureen of Deeper Life High School Lagos Campus
  • Sheriff Abdrahman Oluwatofunmi of Kings College
  • Teniola Farinde of Livingstone College Ikorodu
  • Victor Admiral Ugonnaya of Yeshua High School Lagos
  • Yusuf Sakeenah O. of Nurul Islam Private School Ikorodu, Lagos

Both junior and senior top Spellers will go on to represent Lagos State at the South-West Regional Qualifiers alongside other states such as Ogun, Osun, Ekiti, Ondo and Oyo States.

At the national finals, these Spellers will have an opportunity to win a ₦1,000,000 scholarship (Snr) or a ₦100,000 cash prize (Jnr) among other exciting prizes.
The 6 national champions will also win an all-expenses-paid trip to represent Nigeria at the African Spelling Bee 2019 in Uganda.

We wish to extend our utmost appreciation to all supportive parents who made out time to come and witness and encourage their Spellers. Our appreciation also goes to the hardworking coaches who invested much time into the success of the Spellers. We also say a big Thank You to all participating schools who registered their students for the contest.