Dear Spelling Bee Enthusiast,

Thanks for your continued interest and support of the Nigeria Spelling Bee. The 2018 Season of the competition officially came to its climax on the 21st of July at Landmark University, Omu-Aran Kwara State with the National Grand Finale where Keren Chigozie-Nnah of Deeper Life High School Port Harcourt emerged National Champion. (See full updates HERE).

We are quite excited by these highlights:
We had a Female overall National Champion.
3 female and 3 male champions
3 champions are from public schools and 3 were from private schools.

These Spellers will be travelling to Mombasa-Kenya for the African Spelling Bee 2018 in November. They have been charged by the Federal Ministry of Education to do Nigeria proud and even exceed the performance of their immediate predecessors who won the African Spelling Bee 2017 Championship in South Africa and Joint 2nd place.

We are also happy to officially welcome you to the 2019 Season of the Nigeria Spelling Bee as REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN on our website

We welcome you to register your spellers and start preparing towards the bee as it kicks off in October in selected states across the country.

This season is starting early to make up for the General Elections in 2019 which we pray will go smoothly and peacefully across the country.
Schools are welcome to apply to host the State or Regional Qualifiers of the competition in their premises. For hosting right benefits and requirements, visit

For this season, there will be a distinct Junior Category for Spellers who will still be 13years or below by November 2019. The Junior Spellers will be contesting for the junior prizes and an all-expense paid trip to represent Nigeria at the African Spelling Bee 2019.

We want to appreciate all schools, parents and coaches who have taken time to invest in the future of these spellers and to who have provided valuable feedback for the successful implementation of the Nigeria Spelling Bee program. We love you all.

Special thanks also go to Landmark University for being a great National Host of the 2018 season. Much thanks to all State and Regional Host Schools who hosted the Qualifiers.